(mostly) daily photoblog

At least something’s growing in the back yard besides weeds.

These are my wife’s day lilies.We recently tore up a huge section of the backyard and made a flower bed.  We planted a Katsura tree, a few “pinky winky” hydrangeas (there’s a name that makes me feel manly), euonymous shrubs, dianthus flowers and day lilies.  It’s really quite pretty, that island of color and life in the sea of weeds that surround it.  It really looks like the rest of the yard is out to get our brand new flower bed.

My wife’s favorite flowers are lilies, so she was ecstatic when these flowered so early after having been planted in the ground.  I think they’re quite pretty.  What do you think?

 

2 responses

  1. Day Lilies are a nice hearty perennial…enjoy them year after year after year…..

    August 1, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    • That sounds a bit repetitive. Lucky I like repetition.

      August 2, 2011 at 7:59 am