(mostly) daily photoblog

Black Beauty…or BEAST!

It’s a full frontal view of my K1000 – otherwise known as the Beast.  It’s about twenty pounds and made of steel.  Not really, but it is heavy and most of the parts are steel.  It’s still got some old beauty and a retro feel to it that makes me love it.  There’s no molded hand hold, no battery/auto rewind pack, no zoom lens.  Just a prime lens (with a great aperture of f1.7) and a light meter that tells me if I have too much or too little.  Beautiful.

 

2 responses

  1. There’s something great about traditional black and/or silver. Kinda like all the original Ford Model-T’s. They came in many colors, such as black, black, and black. haha. Nice photos.

    July 27, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    • Yeah. Although, I saw a “Stormtrooper” white and black version of a Pentax DSLR, and red and black, and blue and black, and none of them seemed interesting. In fact, the more color, the less seriously I took them. There’s something beautiful about simplicity.

      July 27, 2011 at 9:20 pm