(mostly) daily photoblog

“The only bad thing about burning your bridges behind you…

…is that the world is round”

I know.  This bridge is metal and concrete and brick, so it would be hard to burn, but the principle stands.  I’ve burned a few bridges in my life, and blown a few up as well, but is usually comes back around.  I have, however, built a few bridges as well.  I especially like building bridges with people who I’m warned against.  I’m a high school teacher, so I’ve run into my share of problematic students and I’m happy to say that usually the students who question and aggravate their teachers are the ones with whom I get along just fine.  In fact, I find those who go along with everything they’re told and accept everything are the ones with whom I have the least in common.

Hmm…what does that say about me?

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. That Wes Guy

    Sometimes you have to blow up a bridge to make a point: that some bridges should be blown up. And sometimes you have to do it to get people out of the trance they’re in. Western society has a surprising number of people so zoned out, they could be zombies. So hey, you’re Woody Harrelson. Get out that banjo! We’re blowin’ up bridges!

    July 19, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    • Amen. Also, “I haven’t cried that hard since Titanic.” Dude, we’ve got to watch “Zombieland” together.

      July 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      • That Wes Guy

        I wish had all my life lessons flash up in front of me all the time. Too bad one of them isn’t “cardio”; then I could play tennis without feeling like dying

        July 19, 2011 at 10:42 pm

      • Every time I watch Zombieland I think that I need to get in shape just for the possible zombie apocalypse. Maybe this is the summer where CARDIO is actually RULE #1.

        July 20, 2011 at 4:13 pm