(mostly) daily photoblog

Love is so cute…

I visited the Alexandra Bridge on Sunday.  It’s about a half-hour drive north of Hope and ten minutes from Hell’s Gate.  And, yes, you read that correctly.  British Columbia has some funny name places.

While photographing this suspension bridge, this couple came up and paused, nicely, and waited for me to take a photo.  I informed them that they were never going to walk across this bridge if they were going to wait until I was done shooting this bridge.  I also, in passing, that they could walk on as long as they were okay with being on my photoblog.

They were so cute.  They were holding hands and being all googly over each other and making me a little jealous.  My wife and I have been married for seventeen years.  We have a ten year old daughter, who was accompanied on this trip by a friend from school, and a seven year old son.  Marriage and kids are great.  I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.  But this couple, walking by themselves, holding hands and canoodling whenever they wanted, made me remember a time when I could grab my wife’s hand and not be joined on the other side by a sticky, melted ice cream covered hand.

 

 

6 responses

  1. Lovely photo. And before you know it you will be back to the “canoodling whenever you want” stage, and you’ll wonder where the time went, and long for the “sticky, melted ice cream covered hand!” But then you get to do that over again, too, when the grandkids come to visit!

    July 18, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    • I know it’s coming, and I’ve learned already that time moves far too quickly. Thanks for the nice words.

      July 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

  2. Ah, yes….we got to do that tonight….and I too remember your sticky hand and the “come look at this????”

    July 18, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    • The “Daddy, look at this,” “Daddy, look at me,” “Daddy…” stage cannot end soon enough.

      There will be a lot that I miss, but that, I will not.

      July 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm

  3. 🙂 nothing is stoping you from taking some time out to rekindle that once very found moment shared with your wife

    July 19, 2011 at 4:35 am

    • Oh, it’s not about rekindling anything – our relationship is more meaningful now than it’s ever been. It’s just that parenting mostly comes before marriage. That’s the stage we’re at right now and I love it.

      Maybe it’s that young love makes me nostalgic.

      July 19, 2011 at 3:36 pm