(mostly) daily photoblog

My Beast

I was inspired recently, after reading Chloe Sutcliffe’s blog, to take some photos of my old SLR camera.  I shot with this Pentax K1000 for a couple of years before I bought a DSLR.  I love this camera, but have largely neglected it since getting a Pentax K20D.

So, here’s a few endearing facts about this camera.  I bought it from the school at which I used to work as they were phasing out their traditional photography program in favor of a digital program.  Bad for tradition, good for me.  The camera, as I’ve been researching, comes out nearly as old as me, which makes me ever so in love with it.  It thrills me to know that it’s over thirty years old.

The best part is that it is entirely manual; this thrills me because if the photo that is taken is good, it is because of me.  It the photo is bad, it is because of me.  It made me a better photographer.  In fact, if I take good photos at all, now, it is because this camera made me learn how to take, compose, conceive of better photos to take.

4 responses

  1. 🙂 it is a sexy beast of a camera, i’ve started collecting film cameras because i love the look of them
    will you take some photos with it & post them on here for me to see? i’d love to see the results

    i shot my first ever roll of film a month back & it really pushed me to be cautious of what settings i was using & my composition (it was a full manual camera as well) eeep
    but i loved it

    ps/ awesome photo

    July 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    • Thanks; for the compliments and for the inspiration.

      Yeah, I think I will pop a couple of rolls of film into the old beast and see whether I’ve learned anything since switching to digital. I think I’ve become less cautious and careful, but we’ll see.

      July 14, 2011 at 10:18 pm

  2. You’re so right ! In automatic mode, you take pictures.
    And when you switch to manual, you start to make pictures.

    July 26, 2011 at 12:58 am

    • Thanks for the affirmation. I’m amazed at how many people have incredible cameras and shoot exclusively on Automatic.

      July 26, 2011 at 10:23 am