(mostly) daily photoblog

It’s a Lego Disaster Zone

“I don’t know who made this mess, but I’m not cleaning it up.”

My son and I took on the task of rebuilding all of his Lego minifigures today.  I started in the afternoon.  After dinner, we took on the task of finishing the building project.  We’ve not quite completed the job, but the count is at 145 at this point.  We don’t have many left to put together, but I think the number will be well over 150.  On one hand, that seems like a ridiculous number.  On the other, they take up almost no space and, on average, are made up of four pieces plus an accessory.  That doesn’t sound near as crazy.

Either way, I’m jealous of the collection of Lego my son gets to play with on a daily basis.

9 responses

  1. Martina

    Legos! My son is in Lego camp for pre-engineering at age 5, imagine that. We have way too many Legos at home, it’s a daily choir to put them away. I try to keep them in his room, while my hubby tries to color sort them in bins, which is nearly impossible. He has pieces and the kits and then creates his own inventions. As a parent you get to have the fun too! 🙂

    July 13, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    • That’s awesome. I wish they had something here for Ben. He’d love it.

      July 13, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  2. Chloe [Photographer]

    lego age was such a simple time; oh to be back there..
    i bet you play with his lego often 🙂 i know i will when i have children

    July 13, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    • As often as possible. In fact, the Lego minifigure in this photo is one of mine from around thirty years ago. It was one of the first minifigs I ever owned and now my son plays with him.

      July 14, 2011 at 7:25 am

  3. As far as messes go in a house I think Lego is a pretty good one to have.
    And don’t be jealous about the fact he gets to play with Lego, you can always play with it when he is not there.
    I do :0)

    July 14, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    • Actually, I play with Lego whether my son is with me or not. I’m an old-fashioned Lego-maniac.

      July 14, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    • Also, Lego messes are great, unless I step on one errant brick and then my next ten minutes is spent cursing the bricks I so love.

      July 14, 2011 at 6:07 pm

  4. The comments here reminded me of the following:

    “Those who say giving birth is the most painful experience ever have never stepped on a piece of lego in the middle of the night.”

    Or something like that…

    July 14, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    • Amen. Aaaaaaaamen.

      July 14, 2011 at 10:16 pm