(mostly) daily photoblog

Is traditional a synonym for “old-fashioned”?

I only ask because today I attended the most amazing, beautiful and traditional Indian wedding.  This is a photo of the bride.  She looked incredible.  The details in her dress and the mendhi on her hands was so beautiful.  What I really enjoyed were all the traditional elements of the the Sikh wedding ceremony.

Before the ceremony, I had the opportunity to talk with a couple of former students of mine.  Jessie and Parveen were wonderful.  They acted as my cultural tour guides.  I was surprised to learn that when their parents were married they were not as traditionally dressed.  Jessie mentioned this:  “It seems like the longer our families are in Canada, the more ‘old-fashioned’ the wedding ceremonies get.”  Well, if traditional is old-fashioned, then old-fashioned is beautiful.

It was a great day of greeting former students, now friends, as adults.  If Jessie and Parveen ever read this, please accept my gratitude for your guidance and patience.  You’ve both grown into beautiful and successful women and I’m proud to have taught you.  To Virinder and Ravi, the wedding couple, you were both amazing and gorgeous.  Thank you for the honor of attending your wedding.  I wish you a great life together.

 

8 responses

  1. Interesting thoughts on Tradition / Old Fashioned . Love the colours and the facial expressions in your photo.

    July 10, 2011 at 1:35 am

    • I was taken slightly aback by the seriousness of everything at this wedding. The expressions here were universal during the ceremony.

      Thanks for the nice words.

      July 10, 2011 at 8:30 am

  2. Wow, beautiful bride and such rich colours. In time honoured tradition, I hope they live happily ever after! They will always have this wonderful photo as a reminder of their special day.

    July 10, 2011 at 6:39 am

    • I hope they’ll live happily in their marriage. The colors are what struck me most during this occasion. The entire ceremony was a sensual experience, from the sounds of three men singing the four rounds of wedding ritual, to the taste of the flour/water/oil/sugar mixture we ate to finalize the marriage, to the colors of everyone around me – I felt overwhelmed. It was beautiful.

      July 10, 2011 at 8:35 am

  3. Nice colours, good close-up, like the look of concentration..

    July 11, 2011 at 11:45 am

    • Thank you. I shot the whole wedding from a seat on the floor with my 50mm, f1.7 lens. It managed to give some good clarity and close-ups – at least of those who were nearest to me.

      July 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

  4. wonderful colors! & a 3D feeling of depth!
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/weekly-photo-challenge-old-fashioned/

    July 11, 2011 at 10:58 pm

  5. absolutely beautiful. . . stunning! Thanks for sharing with us.

    July 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm