(mostly) daily photoblog

Can’t Catch Me

That’s serious arrogance.  On the shoe of, presumably, the graffiti artist is the sign of his attitude:  “CAN’T CATCH ME”.  I wonder if he actually left his shoe behind on purpose or if he took off so fast that he left them behind by accident.  Oh…wait…there’s an option I hadn’t thought about until this moment…

Our local graffiti artist is the…GINGERBREAD MAN!  It all makes sense now.  I remember how the story goes:

I’ve run away from a little old woman,

A little police man,

And I can run away from you, I can!

You can’t catch me, I’m the gingerbread man!

 

Wow.  My exam marking exhaustion is making my fevered brain worse by the moment.  Let’s stop this before it gets…any…crazzzzzzzzzzzzz

 

4 responses

  1. nice grungy feel to this shot, i like the elements

    July 3, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • Thanks. It reminds me of the Spielberg/Hanks movie with DiCaprio – “Catch Me If You Can” – only the street art version.

      July 4, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  2. I became a graffiti artist because that was the only thing left to keep me from getting into gangs.

    July 11, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    • Which is awesome. I’m amazed at the stupidly narrow point of view that most critics of street art have.

      BTW, have you seen the work of David Garibaldi? He was a graffiti artist until his art teacher offered to help him find a way to keep him off the street and out of gangs. He is now speaking to high school and college students while performing his art for tens of thousands of people every year. Very inspiring.

      July 11, 2011 at 10:37 pm