(mostly) daily photoblog

Weekly Photo Challenge: Sky!

When I’ve taken photos of the sky, they never turn out the way I’d like them to.  I see big, puffy pillows or quilting patterns.  My camera sees white streaks on blue.  It never quite satisfies.

Sunsets, on the other hand, work beautifully.  In fact, because I get to focus on a small area, rather than the entire sky, I can often make the orange sky seem even more beautiful and pervasive.  I’m sure that the night I shot this, dusk was settling behind me, with all its blues and purples.  But I could cut that stuff out and focus solely on the big orange in front of me.  The weekly photo challenge, if you haven’t already guessed by the title, is SKY.  Check out some of the other bloggers.

 

4 responses

  1. The most beautiful time of day (along with dawn, of course)

    July 3, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    • I totally agree, but now that the school year’s done I’m going to try to sleep in for a morning or two.

      July 3, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  2. I’m such a sucker for a sunset. This is beautiful.

    July 4, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    • Me too. I think I have an obsession with endings – I sit in the theater until the credits close; I read the end of the book before I read the beginning; I like the paint on the wall, but not the clean-up…I wonder what Freud would say about this.

      Thanks for the nice words.

      July 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm