(mostly) daily photoblog

Line of thinking…do people think in lines?

There’s a line in a poem by Taylor Mali (I think the poem is “Train of Thought”) wherein the speaker ponders whether people who think in “trains of thought” aren’t lacking creativity.  That people should be thinking in “dirigibles” and zeppelins.  They can go anywhere, back, forth, up, down, where train of thought thinkers can only move forward or back at a relatively slow pace.

Now that the school year is finally over, I’m happy to say that my line of thinking is less line-like than ever.

On the other hand, I seem to be gleefully moving toward summer and I’d like that line to be as short as possible.

 

 

4 responses

  1. elmediat

    I intend to take a slow train to September, a very slow train – or maybe I’ll just drift in a dirigibles over the golden isles of summer. Great shot & beautiful use of perspective. Enjoy the days ahead !

    July 2, 2011 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks. If I weren’t currently marking exams, I would be enjoying the days, but I’ve got a week to go, about 2000 essays to mark. Then I will be truly enjoying my days. Have a great summer, too.

      July 2, 2011 at 8:17 pm

  2. incredible photo, love the leading lines

    July 3, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    • Vanishing points are the best to photograph. It leads the eye to the very end of the horizon and leaves me wanting more.

      July 4, 2011 at 7:08 pm