(mostly) daily photoblog

I wish I had mindreading powers…or…maybe not.

Imagine if you could read the minds of others.

I thought, at first, that it would be awesome.  I thought about being able to better understand other people through mind-reading.  To better meet others’ needs.  To be able to go past the “I’m fine” that is often offered when I ask the question “How are you?”  To be able to get the truth instead of the politically correct, socially acceptable half-truth.

Then I remembered that my thoughts are not always the most appropriate.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I don’t want others to read my mind.

Mind-reading?  Meh.

 

 

6 responses

  1. whatsnormality

    You’re right about the mind reading! Perhaps what you don’t know won’t hurt you.

    June 26, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    • The more I think about it (no pun intended) the less I’d want this superpower. I think I’d rather be able to stop bullets with my eyeballs than read other people’s minds.

      June 26, 2011 at 7:40 pm

      • whatsnormality

        A discussion with a friend of mine has led me to the conclusion that the coolest super power would probably be the ability to shoot flaming velociraptors from your fingertips. Imagine how terrifying you would be.

        June 27, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      • Hahahahahaaaa…that’s so awesome. Flaming velociraptors would be the best power. You wouldn’t even need to use them. Simply demonstrate your frightening power and then use it as the great deterrent for all stupid behavior. Awesome. Thanks for the good laugh.

        June 27, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  2. I do not see the point of this art. I do see it’s value as a small footprint in Art History, but that is all there is. It goes nowhere, like the graffiti I on a passing train. Maybe, that is OK, for the graphic is well done. Your skill is respected and appreciated.

    June 26, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    • I wish I had this talent. This is my photographic prowess on display – the graffiti is merely the temporary musings of a street artist. I think the point of art like this is that there is no permanence and the artist is creating for the sake of art. Yes, taggers are looking for recognition by marking their others’ territory as their own, but this artist is painting in a place that is well hidden and he must well know that few people will see it. He certainly couldn’t have predicted that I would take a photo of it and plaster it on the front page of my blog, nor that people would be commenting on it. Given that this place is frequented by graffiti artists and that the “pieces” are painted over often within days of the first piece going up, artists who paint here in this style have a certain type of artistic integrity I admire. No permanence. No publicity. Art for art’s sake.

      Thoughts?

      June 26, 2011 at 7:44 pm