(mostly) daily photoblog

Urban Wilderness: Photo Friday

I’m particularly proud of this shot.  Well, it’s actually two shots.  I held the camera on the horizontal plane, then merged them in Photoshop.  I shot this with a Pentax A 50mm at f8; a higher aperture in order to get a deeper clarity.

As for the content, this is my favorite little spot, under the highway, near the WalMart in Abbotsford, BC.  I was just there three weeks ago and some ridiculous tagger left turtles everywhere.  Thankfully, it took less than three weeks for someone with real artistic vision to paint right over the turtle.  While I was down there, I shot this and a whole lot of other photos.  You’ll see them in the next week.

This shot is more of the urban wilderness that exists in the hidden parts of the city.  This week’s Photo Friday challenge is “Wilderness” and this is my interpretation.  What do you think?

 

 

4 responses

  1. elmediat

    Beautiful composition. The contrast of the grocery carts and the graffiti art reminds of a line that comes from Ray Bradbury, there are those that choose to create and those that choose to destroy .

    June 25, 2011 at 8:06 am

    • Thanks for the compliments. I was thinking of that very same line. I’m not a big fan of Bradbury’s work, but that sentiment is exemplified all around that area where the photo was shot.

      June 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  2. Chloe [Photographer]

    this is really awesome, nice composition
    i like the abondanded feel

    July 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    • Thanks. There’s nothing quite like looking for the beauty in the ugly.

      July 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm