(mostly) daily photoblog

Great googly-moogly!

Did you ever have a pet rock when you were a kid?  The ones with the googly eyes on them?  The ones that, if you kept it long enough, had the one eye that would get stuck and just stare at you while the other eye freely moved around and stared at whatever the heck it wanted to?

For whatever reason, my end-of-the-school-year fevered brain saw googly eyes when I took this photo.  And I thought, “Great Googly Moogly!”

That phrase, googly moogly, has been ringing around my head lately.  Maybe because I’m sitting in the middle of the convocation of the twelfth graduating class of my career.  Maybe because, once again, I’m watching some amazing human beings walk across that stage and out of sight into a life they’ve not yet even dreamed of and I, once again, will have the summer off and do this jamboree all over again next year.  Maybe because I like antiquated and ridiculous phrases (I have been known to say “gravy” instead of great, “cool beans” when I’m happy with things and speak Mandalorian phrases with some of my geekiest students).  Maybe because, every once in a while, silly things must be shouted at the top of one’s lungs.

It doesn’t matter.  GREAT GOOGLY MOOGLY!

 

2 responses

  1. Oh, so that is what we should have done with all the rocks on the farm….sold them as pet rocks????
    Or the ones we found on your yard….the kids could have had a yard sale…oh, yeah!

    June 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  2. elmediat

    Ah memories, my mother would sing the Barney Google song. For teachers, the end of the school year is one of those happy-sad Déjà vu all over again moments. The beginning of school is another Déjà vu all over again moment, only the roller coaster is just pulling out and you already have a good idea you will scream all the way, smile and enjoy it, and those who will throw-up at some point – and that is just the staff ! Enjoy the summer.

    June 19, 2011 at 10:52 am