(mostly) daily photoblog

Awkward Turtle: the Donald Trump of street art

I took these two photos back on Monday.  What struck me as odd is that this turtle is showing up in so many different places around Abbotsford, BC (where I work).  These two identical looking turtles are both in the railway underpass where so many of my graffiti photos have been taken.  But, while I was driving home from West Abbotsford on Tuesday, I noticed two more of these guys on the new highway overpass that connects South and Central Abbotsford.  Someone’s marking his or her territory with a frightfully cute tag mascot.  Just taking over other pieces of art and tags, like some sort of Donald Trump-like street art reptile.

I’m used to seeing tags and street art depicting the hellish and torturous nature of trying to live a life “on the street” and survive.  This turtle, as the saying goes, is the “awkward turtle.”  I don’t know why he’s showing up where he does, but he is too cute to be tough.

On a side note, this is my first diptych and I think it turned out alright.  What do you think?

4 responses

  1. Ha! What an interesting recurring street tag.

    June 17, 2011 at 6:46 am

  2. I think anytime you can use the word diptych in a sentence properly, it automatically means the picture turns out alright. Can’t wait to see a turtle triptych! Those are my faves.

    June 18, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    • When I find the time to go photograph more graffiti, and figure out how to get a shot of the side of the McCallum overpass, I’ll add in a shot of that turtle and make an epic “Turtriptych.”

      June 18, 2011 at 5:00 pm

  3. elmediat

    By the choice of a turtle and the style used, the tag is even more a statement of rebellion than the typical in your face urban grunge tags. It is as if the tagger is defying the tagging community as well as the wider community.

    June 19, 2011 at 11:05 am