(mostly) daily photoblog

Photo Friday, three days late.

I have had no time to get out and shoot anything lately, so today I took off from work at 3:00 and went to a place where I find a nice feeling of nothingness.  I was particularly frustrated today, as I have some 12th grade students who don’t seem to care at all about their final exam.  It’s the last week of classes and the 12 grade English exam is worth 40% of the year’s mark.  Yes, that’s stupid, or at least short sighted.  But it’s the reality that my students have to deal with, or ignore, in the case of these girls.  So I needed to find some zen nothingness.  Empty my mind and concentrate on the void.

As for the photo, Photo Friday’s challenge this week is Shade.  I thought this matched up with the challenge pretty well.  I have yet to master HDR so I don’t try.  I don’t love the super-bright foreground with the properly exposed middle ground and the over-exposed background, but the photo still captures what I love about this place.

 

 

6 responses

  1. Cool imagery It portrays just what you say, a kind of hopeless rebelious nature. Where is your favorite place to shoot street photos?

    June 13, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    • I have searched all around the city in which I live and either there’s no street art culture, or my city has a very efficient system of cleaning up. I usually shoot in the city in which I work (Abbotsford, BC) or Vancouver BC, which I get in to visit every couple of months.

      Thanks for the nice words.

      June 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  2. I know what you mean about the ability of a city to hide street art. Have you attempted to visit a rail road yard? Seams to me you might find graffiti there. I like to photograph the devide in class and even economy. I find myself in Duluth MN alot and you can photograph the city so many ways, but just drive across to superior wisconisn and you’ll be be running, the city is much creepier, and filled with machinery. I plan to do a in depth series about the seperation in econonmys there, on my photo blog.

    June 14, 2011 at 9:39 am

  3. elmediat

    Great image and the post is so true. I found over the years that many student will choose to fail out of fear. They are not ready on an emotional level to leave high school, so they allow themselves to fail – A way of saving face. They could , here in Ontario, pass and then come back for an extra year of co-op and other extra credits, but that would not be cool. So fail a couple of credits and then get them and co-op to produce a similar situation. Mind you, it has been my experience that the boys are more likely to choose that twisted path. Also, in Ontario, the final culminating is worth 30 % which can be split(15-15 or 20-10) between an exam and and a research project-presentation. It takes some of the pressure off a few courses. Continue taking great photographs and keep up the good fight. We often have measure our teaching success in moments and individuals.

    June 14, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    • Thanks for the encouragement.

      As for the “fail out of fear”, we have an acronym (hey, we’re teachers; we love acronyms) for that: F.O.G. Fear of Graduation. And I’ve known students who’ve failed intentionally in order to stave off the reality of life after grad.

      The year-end sounds interesting in ON, seeing as how there are no options here. Well, that’s not totally true – English 12 is the only mandatory final exam. All other subjects have optional final exams.

      June 14, 2011 at 1:45 pm