(mostly) daily photoblog

“What teenager is quiet?”

What teenager, indeed.

Sub Pop Records was responsible for a lot of loud teenagers when I was in high school.  From Nirvana, Muhoney and Soundgarden to modern acts like Fleet Foxes, The Shins and Postal Service, Sub Pop has managed to make itself a reputation for signing and promoting bands that are familiar, in that when you hear their songs you think, “Wow.  I love this.  Who is this?” and at the same time think, “Why don’t I hear more music like this?”

It’s like they have some kind of underground magnet that helps them find their bands; something that locates amazing musicians, singers, songwriters that don’t feel like they’ve been pumped out of some popular music factory.  They are, thankfully, not in the business of mindless pablum that passes for popular radio fare.  They are, thankfully, responsible for thoughtful, soulful, genius acts of wonder.  Thanks, Sub Pop, for making me a loud teenager, even at 37.

2 responses

  1. Great article!

    Shabazz Palaces is another great group they are working with!

    I am probably going to review them soon.

    Good post!

    June 5, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    • Thanks very much. I started listening to bands on the Sub Pop label when I was 14 and have kept my eye on their stable of artists for the past 23 years. Even if I don’t love the bands they’re putting out, I know I’ll always be impressed.

      June 5, 2011 at 8:53 pm