(mostly) daily photoblog

Where has my youthful excitement gone?

My daughter and son, while on a short walk tonight, picked dandelion poofs and made wishes and blew on them.  It was fun to watch them re-enact something that my wife and I did when we were young.  While I was watching them blow on dandelions, a thought occurred to me to which I did not give voice.

I thought, “Please don’t blow those seeds toward my front lawn.”

And there it was.  Right there.  My youthful, fun self died.  I actually thought about my lawn instead of fun.  Argh…I’m old.

6 responses

  1. Same.
    My aunt once told me that you know you are getting old when you’d rather watch the fun than join in.
    Sadly….I do believe this is happening to me.

    May 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    • In actuality, I’m one of the youngest (immature?) people I know. I was shocked, however, at my first thought.

      May 30, 2011 at 11:06 pm

  2. I recently decided on a goal for myself: To be able to lie on the grass and watch the clouds go by without worrying about what else I could be doing, or what sort of bugs might be crawling on me, just like I used to do when I was a kid. Here’s hoping.

    May 30, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    • Walt Whitman, amazing 19th century poet, used to lie in the grass with nothing on and revel in the feeling of the grass and the bugs. I’m definitely not there, but I admire his…boldness.

      May 30, 2011 at 11:08 pm

  3. This picture is both gorgeous and timely for me; over the weekend, my son met these for the first time, and made the mistake of trying to taste them. 🙂

    May 30, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    • Hee hee. Talk about a great moment. And gross. Definitely gross.

      May 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm