(mostly) daily photoblog

Hangin’ out at the Y

…or does it look more like a “T”?

I shot this after I got home from seeing “Thor”.

I could spend some time trying to connect this photo to some event, but I’m so tired.  I got five of seven fence posts in the ground today (with the help of my wife, mother and neighbor).  We had to drill a bunch of holes in the ground, level the posts, fill with concrete and backfill the soil around that.  We have two more posts to go and then the fence panels go on.

What I do know is that this neighborhood, street lights included, have really become home in the last year.  It’s hard to believe that we’ve been in this house and neighborhood for almost a year.

5 responses

  1. deuxwords

    Nope, it’s a “Y”. You saw “Thor”?

    May 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • Um…yup. What a fun ride that movie was. Seriously, I’m not sure I’ve had that much fun at the movies in a long time. Totally epic and Shakespearean in scope.

      May 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  2. deuxwords

    I can’t really judge your movie choices, to be fair. I haven’t seen a movie in a theatre since “Chicago” was released in 2003. Chalk it up to my inability to tolerate loud, rude moviegoers. However, just because you use “Shakespearean” in your critique of “Thor” doesn’t mean I’m even remotely impressed by your movie choices. Just saying.

    May 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    • Well, to be fair, the “Shakespearean” aspect of the film can be largely credited to Kenneth Branagh’s direction. He directed “Hamlet” (4 and 1/2 hours long) back in 1996 and his involvement in this film. I was skeptical, but he managed to deliver a film about a god that was full of humor and overly serious dialog. I had a great time. Some friends of mine and I started a “guy’s night out” group on FB to give ourselves an excuse to see movies without talking cars and kung-fu practicing pandas (although I will go see those with my kids). Now, any movie that starts late, has explosions and a lack of romantic subplots is a good movie.

      May 24, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  3. deuxwords

    That’s a good idea (the “guy’s night out”). I, too, need to see some movies of the non-animated variety.

    May 25, 2011 at 4:55 am