(mostly) daily photoblog

“A characteristic of the normal child…

…is he doesn’t act that way very often.” (Anon.)

I don’t know what got into my daughter in this photo, but she actually gave me a nice smile.  Usually I get crossed eyes and her tongue hanging out.

Ben seems, however, to be planning the imminent pranking of someone by some thing, but only he knows who and what.

I think I would worry if things were “normal”.  It seems to me that there are too many people in my life who desire for things to be normal.  I think they mean sedate.  I think they mean calm.  Peaceful.  Conflict-free.  Quiet.  I think that sounds like a coma.  Frankly, I’ll take the energy and conflict and noise of “normal” kids.

2 responses

  1. Merely giving this entry a “Like” is inadequate, for I love it!

    Having a child has really helped give me new perspective. I was getting too accustomed to having things planned and orderly. Now, everything is hectic and I’m given a chance to live each minute for itself instead of planning already for the next. Quite the gift, that!

    May 15, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    • Thanks for the big compliment.

      I have to agree with your comment. Hectic and noisy is the way to go.

      May 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm