(mostly) daily photoblog

A single rose can be my garden…

…a single friend, my world. (Buscaglia)

There is little that I don’t love about roses.  The smell is a frontal assault on the temporal lobe, disorienting the emotional centers by conjuring up images of love and desire.  To feel a rose is to feel the most fragile leather one could ever hold – a fragility and strength at once.  Visually, they are beautiful in their complexity.  There is little that is simple about a rose.  Perhaps that is why roses and love have become synonymous.

Love is a frontal assault on the senses, confusing the brain and conjuring up emotions and memories.  It is fragile and strong, beautiful and complex.

4 responses

  1. Beautiful photo.

    May 12, 2011 at 11:45 pm

  2. Very nice and soft light, the texture almost makes it look like paper.

    May 13, 2011 at 12:54 am

    • So the secret on the lighting? I shot this on my kitchen floor against the backdrop of my black oven. The softness was achieved through a 50mm prime lens at an aperture of 1.7.

      Thanks for the comment.

      May 13, 2011 at 5:46 am