(mostly) daily photoblog

The sister – she’s a bit stout and old, but she’s strong

Hi.  Sorry for all the scrolling.  I didn’t know how else to show you how impressive this Douglas Fir is unless I showed it to you the way I saw it today.

We (the Family B) went hiking on the “Seven Sisters Trail” today and I’d never been there before.  I know that we’ve got some old growth trees around here, but these seven (three standing, four fallen) are incredible.  So massive; so majestic; so big.  It was very cool to see these trees that have been around, well, I don’t know, but every article I’ve read about them says they’re survivors of the original forest surrounding Cultus Lake.  That makes them really old.

3 responses

  1. it´s really impressive!!

    May 1, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    • After posting it, I looked at the photo again, and though it’s impressive it still doesn’t convey how miniature I felt standing next to it.

      Thanks for the note.

      May 1, 2011 at 9:22 pm

  2. I get it! Beautiful post!

    May 2, 2011 at 3:27 am