(mostly) daily photoblog

Which words motivate you?

These words are on a chalkboard in the entrance to my house.  I don’t look at them often enough.  I’m an English teacher and words have been my mistress for a long time.  I love the feel of certain words when spoken; I love the sound of a word when it meets my ear.  I love when I learn a word in another language and have to move my tongue in an awkward way to make it sound right.  What I love most, however, is when words can evoke a pure, inspirational emotion in the heart of the listener.

“I am proud of you.”

“I love you.”

“You make me happy.”

“You’re amazing.”

I bought a bunch of Magnetic Poetry kits – one for my fridge (I’ve made my kids write a poem each to be excused from the table); one for the entrance of the house; one for the vintage fridge door I have in my classroom.

What’s funny is that I wrote these phrases, in the photo above, but they still inspire me and start my day in a more positive way.

What inspires you?

BTW, Happy Birthday Mom!

5 responses

  1. For me, actions speak louder than words!

    April 26, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    • Absolutely.

      But don’t you love hearing, “I love you, Mommy.”?

      April 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  2. It’s awesome how words inspire people, even just one. I like your idea of letting the kids use them to write their own poetry. Have to keep that in mind as my kids get older.
    I am inspired by a great book that shares ideas on how to get creative and new ways of looking at things. (I mostly read non-fiction). I enjoy poetry and quotes which can inspire my day. Sometimes my own ideas will inspire me too, much like your magnetic words did for you.

    April 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm

  3. It does tug at my heart strings, but that coupled with a good deed is even better!

    April 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  4. Hey, “I love you mom” inspires me….
    also “you are awesome”….and a whole bunch more…never hearing that growing up but desiring it changes your perspective when you are looking for work, dating and having kids….that is why you heard it so often when you were growing up and I pray I never forget to tell you that now and forever!
    Thank you for the birthday wishes and the wonderful cake!
    Love you so much!

    April 27, 2011 at 6:39 am