(mostly) daily photoblog

I trapped the Easter Bunny and mounted him on a cake

Actually, it was my job to make an Easter/Birthday cake for our family Easter dinner today.  Here’s how I did it:

1.  Friday:  I baked four 9″ chocolate cakes and placed them all in the freezer, wrapped in plastic (I only used three of the round cakes for what you see above).

2.  Saturday:  I asked my wife as nicely as I could to make a ridiculous amount of buttercream icing.  After I removed the cakes from the freezer, I placed them one on top of the other and trimmed the whole stack to a good circle.  I “dirty iced” the three cakes  and placed them back in the freezer.

3.  Still Saturday:  We colored the remainder of the icing yellow and green.  I chose two Wilton icing tips and filled my icing bags.

4.  Minutes later:  I removed the iced stack and started “basket weaving” the yellow icing on the sides.  When that was done, I starred the top four rows, dropped a big glop of yellow icing in the middle and placed the Lindt Bunny and the Cadbury Mini Eggs.

5.  Ta-Da!  Done.  Only hours of work to make this little beauty.  Then, back in the fridge overnight and off to my sister’s house today.

It tasted good.  Want some?

3 responses

  1. I’m in awe.

    April 24, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    • Thanks. I love decorating and making cakes. It’s become quite a fun little tradition around our house. I’ve made a Cinderella cake for my wife years ago and most recently I (we) made a four tier Mario Kart cake. They take way too long, but are so fun to make that I love doing them. Maybe, someday, cake decorating will be a second career – Ha!

      April 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm

  2. So artistic…I never knew 🙂

    April 25, 2011 at 10:13 pm