(mostly) daily photoblog

Perspective is everything (in photography, life…most things, actually)

When I first started out in photography, I was drawn to photographers who messed with perspective.  I was fascinated with the visual aspect of perspective of great photographers like Sam Javanrouh and Richard Avedon.  They showed me the world from a different angle.  Whether the metropolitan and street scenes of Javanrouh or the reinvention of the portraits of Avedon, I saw the world from their perspective.  And I liked it.

The other photographers who have forced my perspective (sorry about the pun) are those who have changed the way I think – my cognitive perspective.  Photographers like Kevin Carter and Robert Capa showed me a world that I had to really think about and that lingered in my head long after I stopped viewing their photos.

Who influences your perspective?

2 responses

  1. Very cool photos.

    April 23, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    • Thanks very much.

      April 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm