(mostly) daily photoblog

The ripple effects from kindness.

“Remember, there’s no such thing as a small act of kindness.  Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.”  (Scott Adams)

I love this quotation.  I’ve tried to accept the fact that it’s by the guy who writes Dilbert (which I secretly love – not so secret anymore, I guess).  What I’ve found is that my favorite acts of kindness are the ones that ensure anonymity.  I like to pay for the guy behind me in a drive-thru.  It can be a bit of a gamble – you never know what that guy has ordered or how much it might be.  What’s awesome is knowing that someone is confused and happy.  I’m not sure why I feel so excited when I do stuff like that, but I get this grin that won’t go away.

Change the direction of someone’s day.  Make them smile and take no credit.  It’s going to create ripples you couldn’t imagine.

5 responses

  1. fabulous picture!!

    April 10, 2011 at 6:14 am

  2. A great picture, and an even better story to go with it!

    How often do you pay for someone else at the drive-thru? What kind of reaction do you get from the person collecting the money?

    April 10, 2011 at 10:01 am

    • I try to do it often, but I don’t go through drive-thrus all that often, and many times I go through alone.

      The reaction on the part of the restaurant employee is usually one of confusion and then a smile. I’ve never had anyone refuse me the opportunity to pay for someone else. I have been nearly interrogated by the employees, though; usually on the grounds of whether I know the person or not and why I want to do this. After I’ve explained, they’re quite cooperative, if still confused.

      What I try to do is wait to see the reaction of the person I’ve paid for, and then take off quickly. That way I get to see their face (confused smile) but remain anonymous. And then I smile for the next hour. It’s great.

      April 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      • I’m gonna have to try that sometime. Thanks for sharing!

        April 11, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      • Totally worth it.

        April 11, 2011 at 9:10 pm