(mostly) daily photoblog

Let me “elaborate” on the Photo Friday challenge

Photo Friday’s challenge this week is “Elaborate.”  I had difficulty deciding on whether to try to illustrate the verb elaborate (to expand on something in detail) or the adjective (marked by complexity and intricate detail).  I decided, as you should see above, with the adjective, in the form of the Notre-Dame Basilica in Montreal.

I’ve been to the Vatican and to the Duomo in Florence and a number of other basilicas in Rome, Siena, Florence and Pisa.  For some reason, the Montreal Notre-Dame is my favorite basilica.  I think it’s the darkness of the interior, mixed with the deep but brilliantly lit blues.

2 responses

  1. The colors, the look the image is stunning! I can see why it is a favorite! Must have been tricky lighting, but you captured the scene nicely.

    April 1, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    • I must confess that it is three different images that I merged in Photoshop. I proudly confess, however, that I did little processing. Thanks for the kind words.

      April 1, 2011 at 10:52 pm