(mostly) daily photoblog

When ink becomes a part of you

I might as well get it over with.  Here, above, is my new tattoo.  I was inked this afternoon.  Let me tell you how fun it was.

1.  I have a fairly large tattoo on my right shoulder.  It is of a “voided” cross and celtic trinity.  It was irritating, but not painful.  My forearm, on the other hand (pun intended) was wince-inducing.  Actually, I was distracted to silence and tattoo bed squeezing by the pain at least a couple of times.  I’ll remember that for another day.

2.  I had a fully religious conversation with Miranda, the tattoo artist.  She grew up in a fully atheist house, whereas I grew up in a Christian home.  She had questions, so we chatted.  When I wasn’t gobsmacked by the twinges in my forearm, that is.

3.  The text is from a poem by Emily Dickinson.  The first line is:  “If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain.”  It is one of my favorite lines by my favorite poet.  It also sums up how I feel about my existence.  If I can make a difference in one person’s life for the better, I shall not live in vain.  It is also a good reminder for me, approval oriented as I am, that doing things for others is its own reward and that vanity projects are useless and often don’t accomplish the stroke to the ego that they’re intended to accomplish.

4.  There is some twinging of nerve endings in my arm right now as I right this.  Ouch.  It feels like I was burned.  This was non sequitur.

5.  I love it.  All of the minor and temporary pain is nothing in comparison to the happiness I currently feel about this little project on my left forearm.  In fact, I think I liked the pain.  Pain is good.  It reminds me that I’m still alive.

There you go.

P.S.  Mom and Dad – I hope you like it.  If not, I can’t wash it off anyway.

9 responses

  1. It looks super awesome – nay, even sawesome. Good choice on the quote!

    March 23, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    • Aww…thanks. It hurt like crazy, but I’m psyched about it.

      March 23, 2011 at 8:43 pm

  2. Rachel

    I’m generally not a fan of tattoos but that’s a nice one.

    March 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  3. SWK

    Very inspirational quote… love the idea behind it!

    March 24, 2011 at 4:19 am

  4. enjoy it!

    March 24, 2011 at 6:44 am

  5. Ouch….I hurt for you…..
    So what are the kids going to say on Monday….
    Miss you…..

    March 24, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  6. Jordan Ramsay

    It looks really good Bergen! Makes me want to start on my next tattoos now already.

    March 25, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    • Yeah. I’m already thinking of what my next one might be. It’s ridiculous. This one hasn’t even healed yet.

      March 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm