(mostly) daily photoblog

Under the bridge

It’s funny how some photos, or the tangent on which some photos take me, trigger memories.  The title of this post is the title of a song by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  I heard them on stage at the 1992 Lollapalooza concert in Vancouver.  It was at UBC Thunderbird Stadium.  I wasn’t there to hear them; I was there to hear Jesus and Mary Chain.  I thought of myself as a real punk kid back then and the fact that I was going to see this band at this festival, a band very few of my friends had heard of, made me think I was incredibly cool.  It turned out that there were a lot of people who wanted to see them – they were on the mainstage after all.

The Chilis took the stage as the headliners at the end of the night.  Their show was great.  So, eighteen years later I take a photo of an underpass.  One year after that, I process that photo and it takes me back to the summer of 1992.  Weird.

4 responses

  1. SWK

    Beautiful shot.

    March 16, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    • Thanks so much. It’s funny how a throw-away shot becomes a favorite.

      March 16, 2011 at 9:15 pm

  2. what a beautiful pciture, you really have an eye

    March 17, 2011 at 8:08 am

    • Some people think I have two.

      Sorry. Old joke. Thanks for the nice words.

      March 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm