(mostly) daily photoblog

In what colors do you live?

I’ll be painting my basement soon, so today I was out buying paint.  It occurred to me, through the wise and kind words of my family, that I am one of the least qualified people to go out on his own to buy paint.  I, like many men, am color-deficient.  I am not completely red/green colorblind, but I do have serious deficiencies in color identification in the red/green color spectrum.

When I suggested that I could go out on my own to buy Batman Grey and Superman Blue for the basement, which is becoming a superhero themed man-cave, everyone jumped in with their little quips about how I couldn’t be trusted to handle this task on my own.  Let me explain the extent of my, ahem, deficiency.

At Christmas, I am overwhelmed by the green-ness of everything, not realizing that there is a great deal of red against the green.  Red lights, red garlands, red bows – all green to my eyes.  Not until I am within a couple of centimeters of the tree do my eyes distinguish the red against the green.  When I was in high school, I was called upon to name the country that was green on a large map hanging at the front of the room.  I couldn’t tell which was green, as they all looked green.  On top of that, purples (because of the red in it) comes through as blue.

Let’s just say, I’ve learned that the smartest thing to do in my wardrobe is to concentrate on three dominant colors:  brown, navy and black.  Browns and navies are easy to coordinate with each other, but black wins in my closet.  Black is my favorite (lack of) color.  I am often dressed in all black and have endured years of, “Hey, Johnny Cash!” comments from co-workers and family members.  I also like the varying shades of black, from charcoals to heathers to deep blacks to washed out blacks.  I even, in moments of fashion-forwardness, pair browns and navies with black in a nose-snubbing way to prove that black does, in fact match with everything.

One danger, however, is illustrated by the photo above.  When I take my daughter to a paint-your-own pottery place for her birthday, I am happy, joyous even, when they label their color so blatantly.  I could easily end up with a color-challenged project if I am to depend on my own abilities to detect the colors in front of me.

Thanks, kind person, for making 104 Orange so easy for me to “see”.

2 responses

  1. SWK

    I have a lot of blue and black and white stuff… I should wear more red.

    March 13, 2011 at 12:24 pm

  2. I am looking forward to the outcome of the basement…..
    Here everything is bright colours…yellow prevails

    March 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm