(mostly) daily photoblog

Teach a man to fish…

and he’ll eat for a lifetime.

Photography in late Winter in the lower mainland of BC is a dodgy endeavor.  If there’s a nice day to be had, I’m out with my camera snapping as many shots as possible.  The next day might be crappy, like today.  Yesterday, there were short bursts of rain, but the day was more win than lose.

Around here, if there’s sun, there’s fishermen.  There were a great number of men out in the water yesterday.  None of them seemed to be catching much, but they reminded me of that movie A River Runs Through It. There is something very Zen about standing in cold water up to your knees manipulating hand-made flies over shallow water to entice a fish to bite.  Most of it seems like action with no purpose other than beautiful, slow movement.  Makes for interesting photos, though.

4 responses

  1. I absolutely love the contrast in this shot.

    March 8, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    • Thanks. I did very little post-processing. Shooting into the sun is always a fun challenge.

      March 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  2. SWK

    I love how there’s such a focus on the background mountain and trees and the man is so little in the middle of the pond.

    March 9, 2011 at 4:23 am

    • It’s really easy to feel dwarfed by nature here. I only recently moved down the Fraser Valley to Chilliwack and I’ve been having some “inferiority issues” because where I live is surrounded by mountains.

      March 9, 2011 at 6:02 am