(mostly) daily photoblog

The bridge between you and me, kiddo.

The kids and I took advantage of some nice weather today and went for a walk.  My daughter was quite grumpy at me because I made her cross the bridge in the photo above.  She gave me some attitude, but it gave me some time to think about our relationship.  I love her a lot.  I’m lucky to be her Dad.  It’s easy to get into a rhythm of day-to-day routines and forget that there are two lives who depend on me to be a father, mentor, teacher and friend (and yes, in that order).  She walked away from me, off the bridge and down the path to the car and I had a momentary nightmare.  It won’t be long until she walks away from me to go to college, or get married or…well, I’d rather not theorize too much on it right now.  She’s turning ten in a week.  10.  Double digits.  Yikes!  I want to prepare her for a very large world and I also want to keep her with me and not let her grow up.  That’s a cognitive dissonance I can live with.

She’s sitting on my lap as I write this and she’s been pretty darn cuddly, so I must have done something right because she’s not grumpy with me.  I need to remind myself to cherish these moments.  Hannah sitting on my lap as I process a photo while we sing along to Dashboard Confessional‘s acoustic versions of “Alter the Ending.”  Kind of perfect just now.

5 responses

  1. HI Hannah! I hope when you get older you will learn to use phrases like cognitive dissonance with the same aplomb your progenitor does. Have a magnificent birthday!

    March 7, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    • Ha. She has a pretty impressive vocabulary as it is, but I feel like I’ve destined her for geekiness. Ben’s already lost to the dark side of Star Wars, but I still have hope (A New Hope?) for Hannah. I’ll pass on the birthday wishes.

      March 7, 2011 at 7:20 pm

  2. Good for you dad…..we thought the same about you….never wanting you to grow up…and then look what happened…bless you both! We must have done something right!

    March 7, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  3. SWK

    That’s a cute moment!

    March 8, 2011 at 10:46 am

    • Cute and poignant.

      March 8, 2011 at 3:11 pm