(mostly) daily photoblog

Turbulent literature

In eleven years of teaching, I’ve taught a good number of short stories, poems and novels.  The one piece of literature that has been the most turbulent is Catcher in the Rye.  I love this novel, but it is rife with bad language, immoral behavior and a poor, lost soul of a sixteen year old boy.  I love this novel, but it has raised the ire of parents and students alike.  Yet, I’ve also never taught a novel that had so many students saying, “I wish more novels were like this.”  Or, “I get this kid.”  Or, “Holden talks like we do in the hallway.”

It is a turbulent, controversial, lovable, offensive novel.  Man, I love this novel.

2 responses

  1. One of my favourite books during high school, very relatable.

    March 5, 2011 at 12:47 am

    • I read it when I was 16 and thought it was brilliant. A friend of mine read it for the first time when he was 24 and hated it. I guess it’s all about timing.

      March 5, 2011 at 8:14 am