(mostly) daily photoblog

English Majors, unite!

Those of you who’ve read this blog before might have caught on to the fact that I’m a teacher, an educator.  I’ve never really spelled out, I don’t think, what it is that I teach.  I teach Student Leadership and English.  In the area of Student Leadership part, I am a teacher of 55 dedicated students who meet at 7:00 in the morning twice a week to plan events for the other thousand students in my school.  They plan dances, assemblies, pep rallies and lunchtime events like the human curling and crazy obstacle courses.

The other part of my job is spent teaching students to think critically, read critically, present knowledgeably, and write eloquently.  This is not teaching students to read, but to read better.  Not to write, but to write better.  I am qualified to teach this subject because I have an English Major in my B.A. degree.  All of that studying of literature when I was university has amounted to quite a nice little library of books in my classroom, all of which I have read.

I cannot say that I loved every one of these books – in fact, I kind of loathe a few of them.  I have quite fond memories of most of them.  Are there any in this photo that you liked?  Or hated?

5 responses

  1. Nice collection of literature! Yay for Alice in Wonderland, I am currently reading a book called “Alice I have been” by Melanie Benjamin. It’s a historical fiction book about the real woman named Alice Liddell who was characterized as Alice in Charles Dodgson’s book. It’s quite good.

    March 3, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    • Sounds like a cool concept.

      March 3, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  2. Ulysses by James Joyce is one of my favorite books, but I did not read it until I was in college.

    March 4, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  3. jaclyn

    i don’t know if it’s in your bookcase, but you taught us Surfacing by Atwood, and Ive re-read every year since.

    March 8, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    • What an amazing, and twisted, novel. I haven’t picked that one up in years. Thanks for the reminder.

      March 8, 2011 at 11:06 pm