(mostly) daily photoblog

I love me some nice curves…

Ooh…innuendo.

I shot this with a used Tokina 70-210mm zoom at f3.5.  It seems that opening up the lens like that really narrows the focus area.  I like shooting with a large aperture because it seems to give the photo depth that a smaller aperture flattens.  I’ve got a 50mm f1.7 that I love (thanks, Wallace) and a 28mm f2.8 that also more than serves its purpose.  I don’t shoot a lot of zoom photos, but this landscape seemed to warrant it.

There’s something sexy about curves, even if they exist on a lowly section of railway.  The way it sweeps away from me as I shoot the photo, the way it asks me to come along with it wherever it may lead.  Mmm…curves.

3 responses

  1. Laura Tönnies

    This is really nice! The small focus area really works well compositionally! I’ll have to experiment using this as inspiration 😉

    March 3, 2011 at 3:44 am

    • Thanks. I shot with a very manual Pentax K1000 film camera when I first started out in photography and, after moving to a Pentax K20D, still shoot almost entirely manually. I use old, manual lenses that force me to consider aperture and light metering and I have found that the larger the aperture, the more I am satisfied with my photos.

      Thanks for the nice words.

      March 3, 2011 at 5:33 am

  2. I love the focus point! Beautiful picture

    March 4, 2011 at 11:27 am