(mostly) daily photoblog

What’s that in the sky? All orange and fiery and hard to look at…

On a rare, sunny day in January, I went out to the Public Library.  Our library in Chilliwack, BC, is next to a park in which someone wisely planted a fake pond.  Yes, fake pond.  Complete with water fountain in the middle.  I’m sure there’s something natural that was the initial inspiration for this pond, but now it’s a magnet for ducks and geese, like the stately gentleman above.  They show up because the people who frequent the library and the park often feed them.

As for the photo, I liked the way the water was an unnatural orangy-yellow from the sunlight that peered out from behind the clouds for two and three minutes stints throughout the day.  Yay, Vitamin D!

And judging from what I just wrote, I’m way too excited about a possible early spring and a few more minutes of sunshine.  Pathetic.

3 responses

  1. This is a great photo… :]

    January 26, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    • Thanks. I guess I was feeling all patriotic (Canada goose and all), and not about avoiding all the goose poo that was everywhere around me. Yay Canada!

      January 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  2. Pingback: Danger, Will Robinson. Danger (arms flail robotically). « right in front of me