(mostly) daily photoblog

Once more, we go out to Ben at the lake.

The best part of this shot is Ben’s puffy vest.  When my wife first got it for him, he looked unsure of what he was supposed to do with it.  The only thing he has that looks like this vest is a sleeping bag, and he seemed to think we were pulling a prank on him.  Why I love it is that Ben’s the kid who needs some extra size to him.  He’s the skinniest boy I know.  I was, apparently, just like him when I was little, but you’d never know it now.  It’s hard to believe the kind of changes that I will witness as he grows up.

I wonder what my parents thought as I grew up?

4 responses

  1. Not knowing the context of Ben and the lake, or you and the lake for that matter, the removed viewer of the picture can wonder many things about Ben’s position with the lake, dock, mountain/hillside…what is he thinking, what did he lose out there, is he contemplating jumping in…and not being able to see his face, as is right in this instance, we’re left to our wondering…. It’s a beautiful picture…vest and all. 🙂

    January 26, 2011 at 6:01 am

  2. I’ve got a really skinny kid too. At almost 13 years old he starting ever so slightly to fill out. Phew! Still can’t find pants long enough though….

    January 26, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  3. The jeans he’s wearing are, technically, skinny jeans. Hilarious, because they’re all baggy in the photo. We’ve found the GAP outlet in Tulalip and Old Navy work well for this skinny little guy. It’s even funnier when he and I are out together – I’m over six feet and about 250, and he’s, well, tiny. We look like the definition of opposites.

    January 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

  4. Your parents often thought you would be a young man who would find a vocation where he could argue the truth and possibly correct someone’s English! Just kidding…..we knew you would become great no matter what vocation you chose.

    Love you!

    January 29, 2011 at 4:48 am