(mostly) daily photoblog

Saturdays are wonderful, stupendous, splendiferous days.

It was a beautiful Saturday.  No wind.  Cool, but not unbearable.  The perfect day for a walk at the lake.  I have found this to be one of the best perks of moving to a new city.  My house is now a ten minute drive from this lake – Cultus Lake – and where I previously went to the lake for once or twice a year out of obligation as a Lower Mainlander, now I go with my children quite often.  Once a month or so.  Today was the perfect day to wander and take photos of what I otherwise ignore.

During the summer months, this shot would be impossible.  The dock you see in the middle of the shot, and the rocky beach in the foreground are chock full of people.  Every person scrambling for a square inch of the worst beach you could imagine.  Which is why I love winter walks at the lake.  It’s quiet and peaceful.  It’s splendiferous.

BTW, Google Chrome’s spell-check keeps underlining the word “splendiferous.”  Stupid browser.  If you’re curious as to what it means, look it up.  It’s a great word.

One response

  1. Very inviting…

    January 23, 2011 at 10:07 am