(mostly) daily photoblog

No wonder I feel so tempted to speed home.

This makes my commute home look incredibly interesting.  In fact, I often do not take the freeway home because the side roads, with their farms, ponds, streams and pastoral outcroppings, make my drive much more intriguing.  I also take the side roads because there is no way to speed, forcing me to slow down and decompress from my school day.

The real problem with this photo, as I’m sure someone will comment, is that I took it while I was driving.  With my DSLR.  In my defense, I picked up my camera with my right hand, turned it on with my index finger, aimed the camera out the windshield and took the shot.  Not once was my focus off the road.  My camera has become such an extension of my body that I think I could handle many of its manual functions while performing some other task.

That said, British Columbia has some pretty strict cell phone/driving laws, and I’m pretty sure a nice constable would have little difficulty pulling me over for this stunt.  I wonder if I can get in trouble for posting a photo of me breaking a traffic law.  Hmm…

2 responses

  1. No I think it looks like someone took this from the passenger seat 😉 At least you weren’t texting while adjusting exposure.

    January 25, 2011 at 6:16 pm

  2. That’s right. I wasn’t…uh…texting.

    Actually, I sort of did shoot this from the passenger seat. At least, my right hand is in the passenger side.

    January 25, 2011 at 8:03 pm