(mostly) daily photoblog

SNOOOOOWWWWWW DAAAAAAYYYYY!

Today was a snow day.  I’m a teacher, and could not make it out of our driveway, let alone to the highway to get to school.  When the kids got up this morning, my wife and I were ready.  We had breakfast and got out to the local sledding hill, which, conveniently, is right across the street from where we live.  We were on the hill by 7:30 in the morning.  No one else had even touched the hill with the exception of a overly ambitious cross-country skier who left us a couple of trails to follow.  It was dark and the kids had never used their sleds before, but we were all excited.  My wife cut the first trail and the kids followed that over and over again.

By 9:30, we had been sledding for an hour, there was a snowman in the backyard, and the driveway was clear.

It was a great day.

3 responses

  1. Ha! I knew it. You live in Canada, correct?
    A friend from Manitoba just told me that there is no such ting as snow days in Canada. What do you say to that?

    January 12, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    • I say she lives in Manitoba. I live in the Lower Mainland of British Columbia, but grew up in Saskatchewan. When I lived in SK, I never once had a snow day. If the temperature dropped below -40 degrees, the school was kind enough to shut down, but if we closed every time it snowed, we would have gone to school for four months a year. In fact, in BC, most of the province in under snow for up to five months of the school year. The Fraser Valley and Lower Mainland (about 100 kms from the ocean, right along the border) is populated with people who are never prepared for snow, and, admittedly, the snow is rarely the kind of thing anyone should drive in. It’s wet. It’s heavy. It’s horribly slippery. And then it rains, and ices the whole place over. Skating rink with slush everywhere.

      So, yeah, we have snow days, but few places elsewhere in Canada have them.

      January 12, 2011 at 8:17 pm

      • Amazing. thank you for clearing this up for me 🙂

        January 15, 2011 at 10:03 pm