(mostly) daily photoblog

Photography of Ben, version 2.0

When I first got into photography, it was painting with light and long exposures that thrilled me the most.  I love shots that defy definition.  I was a film photographer before a digital photographer and I loved learning about composition and depth of field.  It’s amazing what can happen when you adjust your aperture.  Then I bought a DSLR (about two years ago) and was able to manipulate so much more.  Tonight, my son and I went into the basement to fold laundry and my wife and daughter were watching some cooking show upstairs, so Ben and I decided that, while down there, we’d make some photo fun.  I gave him a flashlight and set the camera on the tripod, took out the remote shutter release and went to town.  After taking some crazy photos, I decided that the better subject was Ben, not the lights.  I lit Ben with an LED flashlight, and then, in the last half of the exposure I moved the flashlight around behind his head.  He took it quite seriously, and I got back to why I wanted to get a DSLR in the first place.

3 responses

  1. This photo is really cool, love the look on your son’s face, it really makes it a great capture.

    January 3, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    • Thanks very much. I’ve painted with light before, but I’ve never used a person as a subject in this kind of photo. It was hard to get him to sit still enough to not be overly blurry. We had fun and that was the more important part of the experiment.

      January 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  2. This is way to cool! Not only do I miss Ben but the picture is just awesome. Too bad you are not here to enter some of your photo art in some of the competitions.
    Our teams take shots of scenery the first time they come and then if they come again they take people pictures that are so intriguing.
    Tell Ben he looks awesome!

    January 8, 2011 at 5:36 pm