(mostly) daily photoblog

Christmas cookies are AWESOME!

I was reading through my Grandma’s cookbooks and came across a bunch of recipes that I remember her making.  One of those recipes, from The Mennonite Community Cookbook, was for sugar cookies.  Honestly, what you get for all the work you do making sugar cookies is barely worth it.

I mixed a ridiculous amount of shortening, sugar and flour in my mixer and added the milk and vanilla and watched as the dough took shape.  Then I refrigerated it for about four hours.  After rolling it out, my children took to arms with cookie cutters and had some fun cutting out hearts and stars and trees and angels and…well, a whole bunch of different shapes.  This, below, is the aftermath of the first round of cookie cutter-ing.

 

After baking and cooling the cookies, the Bergen family went at the task of decorating with enthusiasm.  We have a lot of fun making all kinds of different designs, and no design is turned down.  Here are a few results of what we decorated today.

 

I’m sorry that I can’t share them with you.  If they look good to you, I’ll post the recipe and the instructions for the icing.  Let me know what you think.

4 responses

  1. Great photos

    December 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    • Thanks. Photography is really my passion, but cookies are fun and tasty. You can’t eat a photo.

      December 20, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  2. Looks great….I can almost smell them here! I hope to do some backing tonight….just to see if the stove works. I did not bring along my cookie cutters and cannot find anything like that here….might have to resort to just round cookies!

    December 23, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • correction…baking not backing….must be the altitude!!

      December 23, 2010 at 5:12 am