(mostly) daily photoblog

Vancouver’s urban beauty.

I love Vancouver.  I visit it as often as possible.  It is one hour, by car, away from my house.  There are so many streets I have not gotten to know as well as I would like, but this is an area I know pretty well.  This is the corner of Thurlow and Melville.  It’s a block and a half from Christchurch Cathedral, and a few blocks from the center of downtown.  It’s not far from Vancouver Art Gallery (my kids’ favorite spot in Vancouver) and only a couple of blocks from the waterfront.

I’ve been to Montreal, Quebec City, Toronto, Seattle, Portland, Rome, Nice, Barcelona…and they all have nice things to offer, but I love Vancouver.  The glass and steel of this young city (only a hundred and twenty some years old) makes me smile and feel warm.  I’ve never lived in the city and which probably explains my infatuation, but it feels comfortable to visit.  Vancouver is my close relative I like to visit, but wouldn’t want to live with.  Absence makes the heart stay fond.

2 responses

  1. Kerry

    I love Vancouver too…and have only fond memories of it. Beautiful picture!

    October 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

  2. I hope that once the highway construction is finished getting to beautiful Vancouver will be a lot more enticing for us!

    October 23, 2010 at 2:32 pm