(mostly) daily photoblog

Autumn burgundies

Today I ate an awful amount of turkey, mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie (although, I could stand a bit more of the pie).  After Thanksgiving dinner (it’s Thanksgiving this weekend in Canada – fyi), my family and I took a walk across the street to take a few photos.  I stopped and took a few shots of the leaves that are rapidly changing and falling.

The top one’s an oak leaf, still attached to the tree, in a super shallow depth of field.  I hit that with my 50mm prime lens at an aperture of f1.7.

The second leaf is a birch leaf I found lying along the side of the road.  It was shot with the same prime lens at an aperture of f16 and the flash was used.

Two different leaves, two different methods.  Same autumn.

One response

  1. The Oak Leaf has an interesting DOF, nice color!

    October 11, 2010 at 9:05 pm