(mostly) daily photoblog

I am such a lady…

On my recent trip to Montreal, I discovered Simons, this amazing clothing store.  I got a little giddy in this place.  My fellow shoppers and I agreed that we’d only spend forty-five minutes in the store, as we had a dinner at the Palais des congres to attend and had planned on visiting the Notre Dame before having dinner.  Forty-five minutes was not nearly enough time.  I managed to browse most of the men’s section and the amazingly-cute-but-too-expensive pillow section.

Here’s the thing:  in my house, I’m the shopper.  It’s not that my wife doesn’t like to shop (she doesn’t) but she knows what she wants and goes to a store and gets it.  She hunts the things she needs, kills them and brings them home.

I am the gatherer, the lady (according to most of the guys I know).  I love to shop and not buy anything.  I will look for the same things in six different shops before I decide I don’t need whatever the item is for which I’ve been shopping.  I am fixated on bags (messenger bags, backpacks, slingpacks, man-bags, murses – I have them all), shoes (I have three different pairs of skate shoes, a pair of Doc Martins, two pairs of brown dress shoes and two pairs of running shoes), jackets (black, brown, navy, and three sport coats) and hair care products (don’t ask).

My male friends all call me a lady when they realize that I’ve not worn the same jacket three days in a row.  When I complain (which I no longer do) about forgetting to put on moisturizer before leaving the house, some of my male colleagues look physically uncomfortable.  The best part:  I think I’m beginning to enjoy making them uncomfortable.

4 responses

  1. Kerry

    Too funny! Yuri is the shopper in our marriage too…I’m the “hunter”…I’m like Hilary. I only go shopping when I need something and I’m in and out in a hurry. Yuri can spend HOURS in a store. I don’t quite understand it.

    October 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm

  2. I won’t shop with Keith because he is the slowest shopper in the entire human race. It makes me homocidal. So we don’t shop together for clothes. Ever. Bad for the marriage!
    My husband has quite the hair product line himself…but I still have more 🙂

    October 6, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    • I have three different types of hair product, moisturizer with SPF 15, and Neutrogena Men’s Facial Cleanser. I am meticulous about my shaving and hair regimen. It’s sad.

      Also, I’m not a slow shopper when I’m with my family – I do, however, shop at a snail’s pace when I’m on my own.

      October 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm

  3. Judy Bergen

    Hey…..do you get that from me???? the fun of looking, comparing prices, colours….oh yeah!

    October 7, 2010 at 8:45 am