(mostly) daily photoblog

Ain’t no sunrise like a Cultus Lake sunrise, cuz a Cultus Lake sunrise don’t stop…

Ooh, is that Coolio?  If you don’t know Coolio, look him up, you whippersnapper.  My daughter and I were listening to a CD on the way to the lake – a compilation of hip-hop songs from the late ’80’s and early ’90’s – that has Coolio’s “1, 2, 3, 4 (Sumpin’ New) on it.  Besides Coolio, it includes songs like “MistahDobalina” (Del the Funkee HomoSapien), and “I Left My Wallet in El Segundo” (Tribe Called Quest).  My daughter thought the songs sounded hilarious – me, it took me back to my job at the mall in 1989 selling clothing at Bootlegger (a Canadian chain of young adult retail stores).  It took me back to the following list of things that I hope are never revived by the fashion industry, music industry, or, well, any industry:

1.  Baggy pants with high waists.  Seriously?

2.  Big hair put in place with Final Net.  No one thought that much alcohol under that much pressure was a bad idea?

3.  Polka-dot rayon shirts.  Silk shirts.  Wha…?

4.  Fido Dido.  Really?

5.  Vanilla Ice style.  Worst abomination of a song using a Queen and David Bowie sample.  And the hair and dancing…argh!

6.  Suspenders.  If you are not wearing clown pants, dress pants, or are a lumberjack, these are not necessary.

7.  Tight pants and loose baggy shirts.  Yechh…

If you would care to add anything to this list, feel free to drop response.

Oh, and the photo, it’s a sunrise on Cultus Lake.  It was just something I shot after listening to music from my youth.

6 responses

  1. Hawooo-yeah to #7.

    Mind if I put one out there that I’m sad didn’t stick?

    Pogs.

    I know, I’m dating myself (something of a whippersnapper.

    But really, that game was so cool..everything, the competition, the collecting, the slammers..aw man so cool.

    *sniffle*

    By the way, that is an awesome sunrise.

    Cheers!
    David

    September 14, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    • Really? I remember selling them at a horrible job I had to every kid that swung by. I was in my late teens, early 20’s when Pogs got popular and I didn’t get how the game went.

      September 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  2. Rachel

    I loved my Buffalo jeans and saved up a long time to get them. So glad the price of jeans have gone down since then…I think they were around $80! Ridiculous!

    September 14, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    • Ohmigosh! I sold Buffalo jeans. I loved Buffalo jeans. I seem to remember spending a lot of time helping girls find the right size Buffalo jeans. One of the perks of my mall job. I think I even had a few pairs of Buffalo’s. Thanks for the memory.

      September 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  3. Jenn

    Having just cleaned my house while listening to the “All 80’s All the Time” t.v. station, I was feeling a tad nostalgic (read OLD). Later on, while driving to pick up my boys from school, I realized that I wasn’t the only one feeling that way that day as walking towards me was a young lad wearing MC Hammer pants and, yes, a Run DMC oversized sweatshirt. I think I may have tried to point and laugh because…wow…but my fingers were so sticky with Aqua Net that it probably looked more like a wave.
    Good times, good times.

    September 18, 2010 at 12:40 pm