(mostly) daily photoblog

Fine, feathered fellow Canadians.

The first week of school is finished and I can’t sleep in.  It took me all of four days of waking up early to put my body into school mode.  I wish I could sleep in, but at 6:51 a.m. this morning I woke up and stared at my alarm clock.  The alarm was off, the house was quiet, my children and my wife were still asleep, but my brain was ready to go.   I dressed, grabbed my camera and took a drive to Cultus Lake.  The clouds were lifting as I drove, lifting just enough to make it look like someone had spread cotton batting over the treetops.  It was a beautiful morning.

I took many photos this morning, but most of them were planned.  The geese were not.  I heard them coming, aimed the camera up and took two shots.  Wrong lens, wrong aperture, not bad shot.

2 responses

  1. This is the best creative shot I’ve seen in a while. Photography is part luck and you got lucky.

    September 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    • I heard the geese, took two shots and got lucky. The clouds and sunrise and geese just happened to compose themselves. Honestly, I had to crop a bit and adjust contrast (curves) because I just didn’t have the time to switch lenses and get the shot I would have liked to. I guess it just turned out well in spite everything I know about taking good photographs.

      September 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm