(mostly) daily photoblog

My body’s in the game, but my head’s on the Oregon coast.

Tomorrow is the third full day of teaching for me in the 2010-11 school year.  It is the beginning of my 11th year in Abbotsford, BC.  It is an exciting year, as the student leadership program that I started at my school has really taken off and the next three weeks will test how well I’ve done my job as a student leadership teacher and I’m so proud of what my students are doing.  But…

My head is on the Oregon Coast.  Nehalem Bay State Park, to be precise, as in the photo above.  I had such an amazing time with my wife and children on the Oregon Coast this summer that I find my head, my brain, drifting off during downtime in class to the beach, the dunes, the camping.  I’m not sure how much longer this brain-drift will happen, but I’m having a great deal of difficulty staying on task.  Any advice?

4 responses

  1. The Roaring Decade

    Just a thought – but instead of trying to stop yourself from drifting to the Oregon coast, you could use it for inspiration for your class? Ask your students what they drift off to from the summer…could make for some great creative conversation!

    PS – Yes, Im living in the west – a little further west than you on a little Island they call Vancouver 🙂 Love it here.

    September 9, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  2. I probably will ask them to write about it, at some point.

    Vancouver Island? Awesome. I’m in the Fraser Valley. We’re nearly neighbours (note the “our”).

    Thanks for the advice.

    September 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

  3. Oregon coast is beautiful, I was there once. Great capture. My advice is to never, never stop drifting off, that’s when great ideas surface and the mind is often doing it’s best work, thinking. Idle time is often given a negative rap as doing nothing, but that’s where the mind is doing everything. It ALL starts from those times left to let the mind drift.

    September 9, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    • That beach was the best place to drift. Thanks.

      September 9, 2010 at 10:30 pm