(mostly) daily photoblog

I love storms.

Tonight, in my little town, there was a spectacular thunderstorm.  I was dropping off a couple of Wii games at Blockbuster and, while facing the door, lightning flashed behind me and it was a bright as having a camera flash go off in my face (not one of those little flashes, either).  The thunder that followed quickly after was so loud I felt it in my sternum and the windows in the door of the Blockbuster rattled.  It was awesome.

I grew up on the Canadian prairies and experienced phenomenal thunderstorms.  I miss them now that I live on the West Coast.  When I experience storms now, I relish them with child-like glee.

The photo above was taken just an hour ago, and is the aftermath of the storm that rolled through here about two hours ago.  It is the beauty that can be enjoyed after chaos and destruction and noise and why I love storms.

7 responses

  1. this is a pretty amazing sky!! Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    September 8, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    • Thank you for the nice words. Sometimes the photo calls out to me and this one did out my kitchen window.

      September 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  2. I love the sweeping motion effect of the sky. It still looks like it’s moving. Awesome shot. Kitchen windows are a photographers secret.

    September 8, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  3. Rachel

    Here in Abby we got the beautiful sky but the storm passed us by. I was a bit disappointed as a thunderstorm is a rare thing!

    September 9, 2010 at 7:22 am

    • I got to see it all, including the brain shattering lightning and brain rattling thunder.

      September 9, 2010 at 10:29 am

  4. amanda jury

    this makes me miss home for some strange reason.

    spectacular colours- must have been quite the storm.

    September 10, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    • Thanks Amanda.

      September 10, 2010 at 5:47 pm