(mostly) daily photoblog

One of many reasons that I don’t want to go back to work.

I am a teacher.  I get two months off work over summer, two weeks at Christmas and another two in Spring.  I have a pretty amazing job when it comes to holidays.  I can justify it to people I know who are not in the teaching field by saying that I am only paid for ten months of work and that I take two months unpaid, but it doesn’t make my job any less awesome for holidays.

I love my summers.  One thing I was not prepared for, however, was how emotionally attached I would become to my holidays.  But that was before I had children.  Now, I spend the first week getting used to being at home and follow that up with seven weeks of doing nothing but spending time with them.  Days, while my wife was at work, with them and I going to bookstores, parks, lakes, trails, skate parks and, well, you get the idea.  Now, with school starting tomorrow, I’m in mourning.  My daughter and I took a walk this weekend to buy our favorite Greek yogurt and stopped at the fountains at the nearby condominium development.  I don’t know to what tune she was dancing but she climbed to a spot a short distance away from me and got down to a song I couldn’t hear.

It’s not that we won’t have those moments now that school has started, but we won’t have the luxury of doing them whenever we like.

She is a reason I don’t want to go back to work.

4 responses

  1. She is a very good reason not to want to go back to work. Enjoy every moment. From the other side of the fence, being a SAHM, I am looking forward to some time alone with kids in school.

    September 6, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  2. Beautiful… it is my first time since I was 4 years old that I won’t be going back to school this year and I hope in this new found time I can capture the ‘small moments’

    September 7, 2010 at 9:09 am

    • I envy your academic freedom. I’ve been in school since I was six and have not had more than a summer off since then.

      I was checking out your site – are you from Canada? I am curious because a number of your references were the Bluenose and women’s suffrage in Canada. I am also a Canuck, from the West (Wet?) Coast.

      Thanks for the response.

      September 8, 2010 at 11:06 am

  3. Who is that beautiful young girl??? Who it seems only a few years ago was jumping on our couch trying to grab something on the other side….precious daughter, precious granddaughter! MOM

    September 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm