(mostly) daily photoblog

If a rolling stone gathers no moss, what does a rock do that is buried in sand?

While I visited Garry Point Park, in Steveston, BC, I spent a large portion of the day on the beach.  I was quite fascinated by the small rivulets, or their trails, that ran away from this rock.

I was also happy with the bokeh of the lens I just bought.  It’s a 70-210mm Tokina, with the largest aperture of f3.5.  So far I’m just playing with it, but it seems pretty good.  What do you think?

3 responses

  1. I think its a great photo. I love the blurred background as a backdrop to the beach sand below. Interesting, I just bought a 70-200mm but exchanged it for a lighter 18-200m. You have a great lens. It’s on my radar for future. Looking forward to seeing more awesome shots. I like the photos that give a feeling of something, if you know what I mean.

    August 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    • Thanks. I had some “me” time while hanging out on the beach with the family. I took my time and played with the lens. I still don’t know of what it’s capable. I guess I’ll see.

      August 26, 2010 at 10:57 pm

  2. BTW, with what kind of camera are you shooting? The lens was a steal on Ebay (I think $35). It’s a Tokina, old school, totally manual with no “A” setting on the lens (too bad). It’s a 70-210mm, and it’s the same as the Vivitar Series 1 that was made by Tokina (although I suspect the Vivitar was made to a slightly higher standard). Awesome find, though, if I do say so myself.

    August 26, 2010 at 11:03 pm